Wisconsin Spotlight Schools Grant Program


Stock IMG

Spotlight Schools is a competitive grant program for Wisconsin Schools of Recognition that have received the award for the last three (or more) consecutive years. Spotlight Schools are selected based on the school’s documented success in two spotlighted areas including Teaching and Learning and one of the following: Vision, Values, Culture, and Climate; Leadership and Governance; Decision Making and Accountability; Professional Development and Teacher Quality; and Family, School, and Community Partnerships.

This program has been developed to provide information to schools around the state about effective practices in improving student learning and achievement, and allow school teams to arrange visits to Spotlight Schools (both new and continuing) to observe these practices and implement these ideas in their own schools. 

Announcement Regarding 2015-16 Spotlight Grant Program 

Due to funding constraints in the 2015-16 school year, the Spotlight Schools grant program will only accept continuing grant applications from 2014-15 Spotlight Schools grant recipients who have been identified as a Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition for at least the last three consecutive years (2012-13, 2013-14, and 2014-15). DPI will contact the eligible grant recipients. Please see our Spotlight Schools Forms, Applications, and Guidance page for a grant application and guidelines.

2015-16 Spotlight Schools

Stock IMG

Schools eligible to apply for a 2015-16 Spotlight Schools grant were 2014-15 Spotlight Schools grant recipients who have were identified as Wisconsin Title I Schools of Recognition for at least the last three consecutive years (2012-13, 2013-14, and 2014-15). These grantees will receive a grant award to support the expenses of hosting visiting schools during the 2015-16 school year. For detailed information on each school, their spotlighted practices, and their contact information for setting up school visits, please visit each school through the links below.

Check out this map of current Spotlight Schools to see schools that you might be interested in visiting.


Converse Elementary School
Beloit School District (Spotlight Website)

Tiffany Creek Elementary School
Boyceville Community School District (Spotlight Website and Brochure)

Bruce Middle School
Bruce School District (Spotlight Brochure and Spotlight Video)

Longfellow Elementary School
Eau Claire Area School District (Spotlight Brochure and Spotlight Webpage)

Mercer School
Mercer School District


Academy of Accelerated Learning
Milwaukee Public Schools

Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton Elementary School
Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton School District

Grant Elementary School
Sheboygan Area School District (Spotlight WebsiteBrochureTeaching and Learning VideoSchool Culture Video)

Lawrence-Lawson Elementary School
Sparta Area School District

Howe Elementary School
Wisconsin Rapids Public Schools (Spotlight Website)

Spotlight Practices Database

Stock IMG

The purpose of the Spotlight Practices Database is to provide educators across the state with easy access to schools where effective practices that are positively impacting student learning and achievement are being implemented. You are able to search the database to identify a school whose work is interesting or important to you. Once a school is identified, you can contact the school to learn more about their work or arrange a visit. This database includes Schools of Recognition, Spotlight Schools, and Teacher Fellowships.   

If you have additional questions about the program, please contact Kathleen Lyngaas, Spotlight Schools program consultant, at (608) 267-7462, or Heidi Walter, Spotlight Schools program consultant, at (608) 267-9146.